delara news Delaware Amateur Radio Association, Delaware OH   VOL 37 NUMBER 6
` `

Name the Pig!!

Our Chef, Tim Trombley NS8B, suggested a “Name That Pig” contest to personify these little bacon-machines.   One of these two will be called upon to become the feast of Field Day, 2018, as Tim smokes and roasts for our dining pleasure. We got a couple suggestions, and the first goes to Joe, K8MP, with “Dit” and “Dah”. Figures, from a CW contest dude. I have no way of knowing which is which- that’s way above my pay grade… suffice it to say we’re already salivating with expectation!!


It’s with sadness that I inform you of the passing of Jim Eberle,  N8TQX  Jim attended the technician classes with Floyd Golden’s mother, Dorothy and me back in ‘92  Jim wasn’t very active but he was a nice guy and close friend.  A gathering of family and friends will be tomorrow 1 to 2 at Ferguson Funeral Home in Plain City  A memorial service will follow at 2 with Pastor Phil Conrad officiating. Will N8HDM

Section Manager Update for some of our neighbors

Five new ARRL Section Managers have been declared elected to begin their first terms of office on July 1. Section Manager (SM) election ballots were counted in the Indiana and Northern Florida Sections on May 22 at ARRL Headquarters. Other candidates faced no opposition during the spring election cycle. In Indiana, James "Jimmy" Merry, KC9RPX, was declared elected in a very close race with Brian G. Jenks, W9BGJ, the Indiana Section Traffic Manager. Merry received 451 votes, and Jenks received 438 votes. Merry has been the Affiliated Club Coordinator in Indiana since 2005, and is presently serving a fifth term as president of the Bloomington Amateur Radio Club. Incumbent Indiana SM Brent Walls, N9BA, decided not to run for another term after helming the Indiana Field Organization since July 2016. In Northern Florida, Kevin Bess, KK4BFN, outpolled Scott Roberts, KK4ECR, 564 to 447, to succeed current SM Steve Szabo, WB4OMM. Bess is a Northern Florida Assistant Section Manager, and a member of the Daytona Beach CERT Amateur Radio Team and of the Florida Contest Group. Szabo opted not to run for a third term of office after serving since July 2014. Several incumbent Section Managers were unopposed for new 2-year terms starting on July 1. They are Ron Morgan, AD9I (Illinois); Bill Crowley, K1NIT (Maine); Jim Kvochick, K8JK (Michigan); Paul Gayet, AA1SU (Vermont), and Patrick Moretti, KA1RB (Wisconsin).